Frequently Asked Questions

  • A percentage of the amount made from the used clothing and linens you give to the Super Recyclers is given to the school, child care center or cause that you support. The amount is calculated from the accumulated weight at a pre-determined rate. The rest goes towards collecting and sorting the accumulated clothing, as well as storage and payment of our employees. The adventure is financially riskier for the Super Recyclers, because the community usually donates their clothing to organizations or thrift stores, while we pay an amount directly to the school or daycare.

  • Once the items are collected, a portion of used clothing and textiles will remain in Quebec, while the rest will be exported for processing. We created the BBecolo division to give a second life to children’s clothing. We have developed several partnerships with local organizations. The Super Recyclers also help Quebec designers by providing raw materials for recycled creations.

  • We are the only business in this field offering a concrete turnkey solution to help fund schools and child care centers with no implementation costs for them. You only have to choose a date for the drive and we will provide you with all the material to inform the parents of what it’s all about. The simple process for both you and the parents, as well as the fact that they directly help the school, are the main sources of motivation for parents to dispose of clothing, textiles and toys they no longer need. Our commitment to giving back to the community is central to our social mission.

  • No. Our business model is based on the principles of philanthropy: making a living while giving back to the community. On top of the money that we give directly to schools or partner organizations, we make sure to keep up to 10% of the clothes we collect for those who need it the most and for Quebec designers. Used linens and textiles carry a certain value on the market and we want to give a percentage of that value directly to schools/child care centers or to social organizations so that they can benefit directly from it. We display our brand with all our partners. Our message is clear: we collect in order to give back to a cause.

  • Absolutely! What you get out of it will depend largely on how well you mobilize your resources and your network and how much internal promotion you do. However, as this is a turnkey project, it won’t cost you anything to try and the benefits can be great. This project was designed in part to provide financial support to schools/child care centers and social causes, but also to educate people about the importance of philanthropy and mutual aid. If the financial side did not turn out as great as you had hoped for, you can still enjoy the project as an awareness-building tool.

    On average, a child care center collects 650 kg of clothing, or about $ 170 per drive. Some institutions raise 800 kg twice a year and get $ 400 to fund projects. The most impressive drive was that of the Saint-Hugues CPE Enfant-Lumière, which collected more than 1700 kg of clothing, more than $ 500 in a single drive! In the case of schools, the figures vary between 400 kg and 3000 kg, or between $ 100 and $ 900 for a drive. The most impressive drive for a school is Stanislas College with 3057 kg in one drive!

  • Yes, once you have booked a date for the drive, we will send you several promotional pieces, such as posters and leaflets, to help you promote and organize it. In order to keep the process simple for you, our truck will pass by to collect the clothing and linen at a pre-arranged time. Several schools and child care centers really appreciate our idea because they do not have any space to store clothing.

  • You can have a separate clothing drive where you work and bring the collected clothes to the school or child care center on the day of the drive. If quantities are large enough, we might even be able to send our trucks directly to your workplace and add the accumulated weight to that of the school or child care center. Contact us for more information.

  • Yes. We highly encourage the schools and child care centers to choose a concrete project to fund. It’s much easier to mobilize your network and the business community around a specific project. The project will be described on your personal page on the Super Recycler’s website, one of the tools we offer to help you promote the drive within your community. We do not need to approve the project you choose. The Super Recyclers and their partners have also created a $1000 Super Recycler grant that will be awarded to a participating school each year and a $500 grant that will be awarded to a child care centre.

  • All the clothing/linen collected is weighed and a report is sent to you a few days later. We provide photographic evidence when weighing and send a copy of the photos showing the weight to the school or child care center.

  • No. Anything that the Super Recyclers picks up must be reusable. We collect used and even worn out clothing that can be handed over to causes, sold to second-hand shops or exported. We can no longer take pillows, single socks or shoes, trousers or tops with holes or stained with paint, as they can not be reused and we are not able to recycle them properly for the moment and don’t do waste management.

    So-called “sorted or institutional” clothes, as we call them in our field (clothes coming from thrift stores) or very dirty clothes are not accepted.

    This decision stems from the fact that our partners ask us for second-life clothes and refuse clothes from thrift stores. We prefer to ask schools to maintain a minimum of quality in the clothes they give us so that we can keep the advantageous price we give them for collections.

  • All second-life clothing, handbags, scarves, hats, gloves, fur, footwear, sheets, towels, curtains, fabrics, trimmings, leather accessories.

  • Household items such as pillows, crockery, carpets, frames, hangers, ornaments, toys (except for stuffed toys or toys in good condition that can be donated to organizations), skates or televisions, cannot be accepted. However, we have developed a partnership with Ramasse.ca and Recycle Junk who can help you with items like those.

  • Pay special attention to the weight of the bags. It is important that the textiles are placed in plastic bags, like garbage bags, to facilitate transport and weighing. In addition, make sure the bags are reasonably light in order to facilitate the work of our team members, who have to pick up many bags every day… If your students are not able to lift a bag, it is best to make two bags. A little trick to pass on to the parents who participate: they can fill their old pillowcases with used clothes to recycle everything at the same time!

Steps to our process

Arrival of clothing

Arrival of clothing

Day of the drive

Day of the drive

We fill up the truck

We fill up the truck

Storage before sorting

Storage before sorting

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Foire aux questions

  • Un pourcentage des dons en vêtements que vous apportez aux Super Recycleurs rapportent directement à l’école, à la garderie ou à la cause que vous soutenez sous forme de chèque dont le montant est calculé au poids accumulé à un taux préalablement convenu. Le reste va à la gestion de la collecte et du tri des vêtements recueillis, ainsi qu’à l’entreposage et au paiement de nos employés. L’aventure est plus risquée financièrement pour les Super Recycleurs, car habituellement la communauté donne les vêtements à des organismes ou à des friperies, alors que nous remettons un montant directement à l’école ou à la garderie.

  • Une fois la collecte faite, une portion des vêtements et des textiles usagés resteront au Québec, et le reste sera exporté pour être transformé. Nous avons créé la division BBecolo pour donner une deuxième vie aux vêtements d’enfants. Nous avons développé plusieurs partenariats avec des organismes d’ici. Les Super Recycleurs aident également les designers québécois en leur fournissant des matières premières pour des créations recyclées.

  • Nous sommes les seules dans ce domaine à offrir aux écoles et aux garderies une solution de financement concrète, clés en main, et sans coûts de mise en place. Vous n’avez qu’à choisir une date de collecte et nous vous fournissons tout le matériel pour informer les parents de la collecte. Le processus tellement simple, autant pour vous que pour les parents, ainsi que le fait qu’ils aident directement l’école, sont les principales sources de motivation des parents pour se départir de vêtements, textiles et jouets dont ils n’ont plus besoin. Notre volonté de redonner à la communauté est au centre de notre mission sociale.

  • Non. Notre modèle d’affaires est basé sur le principe de la philanthropie : gagner sa vie tout en redonnant à la communauté. En plus de l’argent que nous remettons directement aux écoles ou aux organismes partenaires, nous nous assurons de remettre jusqu’à 10 % des vêtements que nous recueillons aux plus démunis et aux designers du Québec. Les textiles usagés ont une certaine valeur sur le marché et nous voulons remettre un pourcentage de cette valeur directement aux écoles et garderies ou aux organismes humanitaires pour qu’ils puissent en tirer profit. Nous affichons notre image de marque partout où nous sommes partenaires. Notre message est clair, nous collectons pour en redonner à une cause.

  • Assurément ! Ce que vous en retirerez dépendra grandement de la mobilisation de votre réseau et de la promotion interne que vous ferez. De toute manière, comme c’est un projet clés en main, cela ne vous coûte rien d’essayer et les retombées bénéfiques peuvent être multiples. Nous avons conçu ce projet en partie pour apporter un soutien financier aux écoles, aux garderies et aux organismes humanitaires, mais aussi afin de sensibiliser les jeunes à l’importance de la philanthropie et de l’entraide. Si le côté financier n’était pas entièrement au rendez-vous, vous pourrez toujours profiter du projet comme outil de sensibilisation.

    En moyenne, un CPE ou une garderie amasse 650 kg de vêtements, soit environ 170 $ par collecte. Certains établissements amassent 800 kg deux fois par année et obtiennent ainsi 400 $ pour financer des projets. La collecte la plus impressionnante a été celle du CPE Enfant-Lumière de Saint-Hugues qui a recueilli plus de 1700 kg de vêtements, soit plus de 500 $ en une seule collecte ! Dans le cas des écoles, les chiffres varient entre 400 kg et 3000 kg, ou entre 100 $ et 900 $ pour une collecte. La collecte la plus impressionnante pour une école est le College Stanislas avec 3057 kg en une seule collecte ! Les cueillettes se font-elles en tout temps au cours de l’année ? Oui, une fois que vous avez réservé une date pour la collecte, nous vous ferons parvenir des documents, comme des affiches et des dépliants, qui vous aideront à l’organiser. Notre camion passera le jour de la cueillette, à l’heure que vous aurez décidé, car nous tenons à garder le processus simple. Plusieurs écoles et garderies apprécient beaucoup notre idée, car ils n’ont pas assez d’espace pour entreposer les vêtements.

  • Oui, une fois que vous avez réservé une date pour la collecte, nous vous ferons parvenir des documents, comme des affiches et des dépliants, qui vous aideront à l’organiser. Notre camion passera le jour de la cueillette, à l’heure que vous aurez décidé, car nous tenons à garder le processus simple. Plusieurs écoles et garderies apprécient beaucoup notre idée, car ils n’ont pas assez d’espace pour entreposer les vêtements.

  • Vous pouvez faire une collecte sur le lieu de votre travail et apporter les vêtements ainsi recueillis à l’école le jour de la collecte. Si les quantités sont assez grandes, nous pouvons même parfois passer à l’entreprise et ajouter le poids au montant du chèque remis à l’école ou à la garderie. Contactez-nous pour plus d’information.

  • Oui. Nous encourageons fortement les écoles et les garderies à proposer un projet concret à financer. Il est plus facile de mobiliser un réseau autour d’un projet et de solliciter la communauté d’affaires. Le projet sera ajouté à votre page personnelle sur le site des Super Recycleurs, un des outils que nous vous proposons pour en faire la promotion dans votre communauté. Nous n’avons pas à approuver les projets sélectionnés. Nous avons créé une bourse avec nos partenaires qui sera remise à une école participante par année. Chaque école qui participe aura la chance de recevoir une bourse Les Super Recycleurs de 1 000 $. Chaque garderie (CPE) qui participe aura la chance de recevoir une bourse de 500 $.

  • Chaque collecte est pesée et un rapport vous est envoyé dans les jours qui suivent la collecte. Nous fournissons des photos comme preuve lors de la pesée, et nous en retournons une copie montrant le poids à chaque école ou garderie.

  • Non. Tout ce qui est remis aux Super Recycleurs doit pouvoir être réutilisé. Nous ramassons des vêtements usagés et même défraîchis qui peuvent être remis à des causes, vendus à des friperies ou exportés. Nous ne pouvons plus prendre d’oreillers, de chaussettes ou de souliers uniques, des pantalons ou des hauts troués ou tâchés de peinture, car ils ne pourront pas être réutilisés et nous ne sommes pas en mesure de les recycler correctement pour l’instant ou de faire de la gestion de déchets.

    Les vêtements dits de type « trié ou institutionnel » dans le milieu (les vêtements des friperies) ou qui sont très sales ne sont donc pas acceptés. 

    Cette adaptation découle du fait que nos partenaires nous demandent des vêtements de seconde vie et refusent les vêtements de friperies. Nous préférons demander aux écoles de maintenir un minimum de qualité aux vêtements qu’ils nous remettent afin d’être en mesure de conserver le prix avantageux que nous leur remettons pour les collectes.

  • Tous les vêtements de seconde vie, sacs à main, foulards, chapeaux, gants, fourrures, chaussures, draps, serviettes, rideaux, tissus, retailles, accessoires de cuir. 

  • Les biens domestiques tels que la vaisselle, les tapis, cadres, cintres, bibelots, jouets (sauf pour les jouets en peluches ou les jouets en bon état qui peuvent être remis à des organismes), télévisions, patins, etc. Par contre, nous avons développé un partenariat avec Ramasse.ca et Recycle Junk qui peuvent se charger de vous aider.

  • Veuillez porter une attention particulière au poids des sacs. Il est important que les textiles soient mis dans des sacs en plastique, de types sacs de vidanges, pour faciliter le transport ainsi que la pesée. De plus, assurez-vous que les sacs sont d’un poids raisonnable afin de faciliter le travail de notre équipe, qui soulève beaucoup de sacs chaque jour… Si vos élèves ne sont pas capables de soulever un sac, il est préférable de faire deux sacs. Un petit truc que vous pouvez refiler aux parents qui participent : ils peuvent remplir leurs vieilles taies d’oreiller avec les vêtements usagés pour tout recycler en même temps !

Étapes des collectes

Accueil des vêtements

Accueil des vêtements

Jour de la collecte

Jour de la collecte

On remplit le camion

On remplit le camion

Entreposage avant de trier

Entreposage avant de trier

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This